Ever wonder what sort of questions are on the PGA/USGA Rules Exam? You may have heard about the 100 question exam typically offered at the end of the 3½ day Rules Workshops held over the winter at various locations around the country.

Well, this is the sort of question which might have us scratching our heads that morning:

In stroke play, a player’s tee shot is known to have come to rest in an area of ground under repair and was not found after a three-minute search by the player.

He plays another ball from the tee under Rule 18.1, which came to rest nearby but outside the same area of ground under repair.

The player then realized he could have proceeded under Rule 16.1e without penalty.

He lifts the second ball played from the tee, drops another ball in accordance with Rule 16.1e and plays out the hole, taking three strokes from there.

What is the player’s score on the hole?