Four of the world's best golfers took on the double hit challenge.@hannahdgolf how did they do?#ADGolfChamps pic.twitter.com/lvmKb5GNx0
— HSBC Sport (@HSBC_Sport) January 15, 2019
In the 2019 Rules of Golf, Rule 10.1a says:
In making a stroke:
- The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball and must not push, scrape or scoop the ball.
- If the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once, there has been only one stroke and there is no penalty.
Please consider this a brief public service announcement. While the meme about escaping trouble by double-hitting the ball is fun, and challenging, it would result in a penalty, because the second hit is not accidental.
What TC Chen famously did? No penalty (if it had happened in 2019).
What Hannah Davies did on Instagram? Penalty.